Graduate Student Committee Representatives

The Ethnic Studies Department benefits from the observations, ideas, and contributions of its graduate students. To that end, several volunteer positions provide representation from graduate students at faculty meetings, in making decisions about curriculum, new faculty, and admission of future graduate students, and to facilitate social and professional development events for graduate students. The 2017-18 representatives were chosen by vote at the first Town Hall Meeting on October 4, 2017. For the Admissions Committee Representative, a call is sent out separately to the ABD students requesting a volunteer to serve on this committee. If we receive more than one volunteer, the Admissions Committee will choose the representative.

Graduate Representative to Faculty Meetings: Sophia Armen
Proxy: Katherine Steelman

Graduate Student Association (GSA) Representatives: Burgundy Fletcher and Katherine Steelman
Proxy: Christiane Assefa

Admit Day Committee: Melanie West, Keva Bui, Oscar Gutierrez

Colloquium Planning Committee Representatives: Yessica Garcia and Hina Shaikh

Admissions Committee Representative: Cynthia Vazquez

Faculty Search Committee Liaisons: Hina Shaikh, Sophia Armen, Naaila Mohammed

Community Engagement Committee
Graduate Student Representative: Noelle Sepina