Ethnic Studies Faculty Administrative Committees, 2017-18

Faculty Department Administrative Appointments

  • Department Chair - Dayo Gore
  • Vice Chair - Shelley Streeby
  • Director of Graduate Studies - Roshanak Kheshti
  • Director of Undergraduate Studies - Kirstie Dorr
  • Graduate TA Coordinator: Sara Kaplan
  • Affiliates Committee: Curtis Marez

Colloquium Planning Committee (2-year Appt.)

The Department invites guest lecturers to appeal to a broad departmental and campus audience. These lectures are open to the public and usually scheduled on Wednesdays from 3-5, typically in one of the SSB conference rooms on the ground level. A Colloquium Planning Committee will be formed every year and will be responsible for planning and organizing the Department Colloquium.   If we have job talks, they will take the place of the colloquium that quarter.

  • Daphne Taylor-Garcia
  • Wayne Yang
  • Shelley Streeby
  • Graduate Student Representative - Krys Mendez 

Graduate Record Committee (3-year Appt)

  • Ross H Frank
  • Jillian Hernandez 

Graduate Admissions Committee (3-year Appt.) 

  • Frank H. Ross
  • Curtis Marez

Chair’s Advisory Committee (CAC) 

The Chair’s Advisory Committee is a non-voting committee whose purpose is to advise the Chair on departmental matters.  It is a 3-member committee that includes the Chair, Vice Chair, and one appointed member, preferably from the Assistant Professor rank. Committee will meet once a quarter or as needed.

  • Shelley Streeby
  • Wayne Yang
  • Daphne Taylor-Garcia

Graduate Council

The Ethnic Studies Graduate Council is composed of the Graduate Records Committee and the Graduate Admissions Committee.The Graduate Council will meet at the discretion of the DGS, normally twice a year.

Community Engagement Committee

San Diego partnerships, fundraising, development. 

  • TBD
  • TBD
  • Graduate representative: Noelle Sepina


Faculty Campus-wide Committee Assignments

  • Academic Senate Representative - Jillian Hernandez
    • Alternate - Daphne Taylor-Garcia
  • Committee on Undergraduate Education (CUE) - Sara Kaplan
    • Alternate - Ross H. Frank
  • Committee on Academic Personnel – Kamala Visweswaran (1st of 2 years)
  • Committee on Committees - Yen Espiritu (3rd of 3 years)
  • Council on Undergraduate Education Representative - TBD
  • Division of Arts & Humanities cross-divisional search in Understanding Cultures and Addressing Disparities in Society: Business Ethics – Ross Frank
  • Division of Social Sciences cross-divisional search in Exploring the Cultural Basis of Knowledge, Learning, and Creativity – Sara Kaplan
  • DEI Committee - TBD


Curriculum Committee (3-year Appt.)

This committee generally meets once a quarter and as needed to compose and fine-tune the teaching grid. The Spring Quarter meeting finalizes the course offerings for the next academic year. The committee first identifies the courses that need to be offered for the undergraduate and graduate program, then reviews the teaching schedule requests that the faculty have submitted to the chair, and finally creates a draft teaching grid.

  • Curtis Marez- Director of Graduate Studies (Fall 2016)
  • Roshanak Kheshti- Director of Graduate Studies (Winter-Spring 2017)
  • Sara Kaplan - Director of Undergraduate Studies (Fall 2016)
  • Wayne Yang - Director of Undergraduate Studies (Winter-Spring 2017)
  • Christa Ludeking - Graduate Student Affairs Officer
  • Monica Rodriquez - Undergraduate Student Affairs Officer


1. Affiliates Working Group

A working group is created each year to identify needs and talk to interested affiliates about joining the department of Ethnic Studies. 

  • Roshanak Kheshti
  • Dayo Gore
  • Fatima El-Tayeb

2. Graduate Curriculum Revision Committee

  • TBD

3. Faculty Search Committee

Native American/Indigenous Studies Faculty Search

  • Curtis Marez
  • Sarah Kaplan
  • Mattie Harper
  • Graduate Representative:Hina Shaikh, Sophia Armen, Kai Small.